Tran Quoc Pagoda
The Tran Quoc Pagoda is the oldest pagoda currently standing in Hanoi. It was constructed in the sixth century during the reign of Emperor Ly Nam De and was then named Khai Quoc, meaning "founding the country." At first it was built outside the Yen Phu Dyke and the move to West Lake
It has been named An Quoc, Tran Quoc and Tran Bac with an architecture harmonious with nature, the pagoda complements the beautiful scenery around the lake.
The existing building originated from the last repair work done in 1815, including the triple gate, the main pagoda, the sitting room, the ancestral worshipping chamber the garden tower.
Quan Su Pagoda
Quan Su Pagoda was erected on the land of An Tap Village in Tho Xuong District near the southern gate of the ancient imperial capital of Thang Long.
The Chua Quan Su Pagoda has its origins in the 15th century when a hall was built to welcome ambassadors who came to visit the king. Soon after a pagoda was built, the Ambassador's Pagoda. The hall was destroyed in a blaze, but the pagoda survived. The pagoda was also saved a second time, when most of the pagodas were burned at the end of the Le dynasty.
Nowadays this is one of the most active pagodas in Hanoi. Dozens of young monks reside in the complex and study in its classrooms. The pagoda is also famous among local old ladies who come here to pray for a long and healthy life.
Quan Su is one of the most important temples in the country. in 1934 it became the headquarters of the Tonkin Buddhist Association and today it is headquarters for the Vietnam Central Buddhist Congregation. It's an active pagoda and usually thronged with worshippers; the interior is dim and smoky with incense. To the rear is a school of Buddhist doctrine. For good luck (or for fun), visitors of any stripe are welcome to buy sticks of incense and make offerings at the various altars and sand urns. It's easy to just follow suit, and folks will be glad to show you what to do.
Under the Le Dynasty in the 15th century, envoys of the neighboring countries congregated at a house on the present-day Quan Su Street so that the house became known as Quan Su, or embassy. As most of the ambassadors were Buddhists, a small pagoda was built next to the house. There they could pray or recite the Buddhist scriptures. Though later the house was demolished, the Quan Su Pagoda remained.